How to Manage Users in WizIQ

            Each academy can have several users with different roles as described below.


            Administrator: Users with the administrator role have all the permissions as the academy owner and can create accounts for new users and assign appropriate roles to them. Administrators can also manage user accounts and roles and academy settings.
            Administrators also have the instructor and learner roles available, that is, they can switch their role to that of an instructor or learner.
            Instructor: Users with the instructor role can create courses and enroll learners in their courses. Instructors can also manage courses and classes, content library of their courses and classes, configure settings pertaining to the completion of their courses; and get insights into the progress made by learners enrolled in their courses.
            Instructors also have the learner role available, that is, they can switch their role to that of a learner.

            Learner: Users with the learner role can consume any learning resources, such as a free or paid course.

            Understanding Role-based Access

            Depending on their roles, all users have a role-based access in their academies. Role-based access defines a set of permissions granted to each user role for performing specific tasks within the academy.

            The following matrix shows the role-based access for all users within an academy.



            Administrator

            Instructor

            Learner

            Administrator




            Instructor




            Learner






            Switching User Roles


            For instance, after creating an instructor role, administrators can switch to the instructor role to see how the academy interface would appear to an instructor. Further, to undergo some trainings through your academy, the instructors can switch to the learner role.


            Performing User Management Tasks

            To effectively manage the user accounts in an academy, administrators must perform certain user management tasks within their respective academies.

            As an administrator, you can perform the following user management tasks:


            • adding new users

            • changing roles or editing profiles of registered users

            • unregistering users


            The switching user roles feature enables privileged users, such as administrators and instructors, to switch to another role from the Use academy as option.

            Registering New Users

            For all users in your academy, you must create their user accounts by registering them.
            The learners who self-enroll themselves in any course or class in your academy, automatically get enrolled and registered in your academy.

            You can register users in your academy using either of the following ways:
            • Single user registration: Use this option to register a handful of users one at a time.

            • Bulk user registration: Use this option to perform bulk registration of several users at once. WizIQ provides a CSV template in which you can enter the details of the users that need to be registered. Some of the details that you can specify include email address, first name, designation, role, and country


              To add a new user, you must first log in as an administrator.



              To register a new user

            1. Log in to your academy.

            2. On the left, click to view all the menu options.

            3. From the menu options that appear, click Academy Settings.
              The Academy Settings page appears displaying various settings that you can configure for your academy.

            4. Click User Management to add a new user to your academy.
              The Users page appears displaying a tabular list of all the users registered in the academy. On this page, you can also see the roles and other details of each user.


            1: Select one of the options to view all, administrator, instructor, or learner users respectively.

            2: Select All to view the list of all users. To view users whose names start with a specific letter, select that alphabet. You can also select multiple alphabets.

            3: Select the checkbox beside Name to select all the users on the current page. To select specific users, select the check boxes before those user names.

            4: View the roles associated with each user in this column.

            5: Click to change the assigned role or edit the profile of a user.

            6: Click to add a new user. See Step 5 to know how to add a new user.

            7: Click to UNENROLL the selected user(s).

                   5. Click to register a new user to your academy.
                   6. In the dialog box that appears, click one of the following options:


            • BY EMAIL: Click this option to register new users one at a time.

            • UPLOAD NEW LIST: Click this option for bulk registration of new users

                  7. If you selected BY EMAIL, do the following:
              1. Under Name, enter the name of the new user.

              2. Under Email, enter the email address of the user.

              3. (Optional) Under Message, provide a message for creating the new user account.

              4. Click Register to complete the registration process or click Cancel to abort the process and exit.

            A notification appears stating that the specified user is registered to the academy. Additionally, the new users receive an email notification stating that they have been registered to the academy.


                  8. If you selected UPLOAD NEW LIST, do the following:


            Click CSV Template to download the CSV template in which you can enter the details of the users you need to register.



            In the CSV template, for each user you can specify details, such as the email address, first and last name, user role, and address, among others.


              1. Drag and drop the CSV file with the details you entered in the designated area. You can also upload the CSV file.

              2. (Optional) Under Message, provide a message for creating the new user accounts.

              3. Click Register to complete the registration process or click Cancel to abort the process and exit.

            A notification appears stating that the specified user is registered to the academy. Additionally, the new users receive an email notification stating that they have been registered to the academy.

            By default, all the new users are assigned the learner role.

            Changing Roles or Editing Profiles of Registered users

            After registering users, an administrator can change their roles or edit their details, as required. Administrators can also assign multiple roles to a particular user.
            To change roles or edit profiles
            1. On the Academy Settings page, against the user whose role or profile you want to edit, click

            2. From the menu options that pop-up select the desired option





                  3. If you select the Change Role option,


              1. In the Change Role dialog box, select the checkbox against the roles you want to assign to the user. You can also deselect the checkboxes beside the roles that you want to revoke from the user.

                Ensure that you have selected at least one role.
              2. Click Save to save the updates or click Cancel to exit.



                  4. If you select the Edit Profile option,
              On the user’s profile page, click besides the details you need to edit.
              For each user, you can edit the details, such as first name, last name, user description, and phone number, among others.


            This updates the details of the selected user.

            To change the user’s password, click Change Password and enter the new password in the Change Password dialog box that appears.

            Unregistering Users

            Use the UNENROLL option to remove users who no longer need to be associated with your academy.

            To unregister a user
            1. On the Academy Settings page, select the user you want to remove from your academy. You can also select multiple users.
            2. Click UNENROLL.
            3. In the Unenroll user dialog box that appears, click CONFIRM to proceed or click CANCEL to exit.

            A notification appears confirming removal of the selected user(s) from the academy.

            Updated: 23 Apr 2018 09:07 PM
            Helpful?  
            Help us to make this article better
            1 1